The Montana Headwaters Regional Technology & Innovation Hub

EDA_Tech Hubs Designee Logo_CLR H

The Montana Headwaters Tech Hub Consortium has received formal designation as a Regional Technology & Innovation Hub from the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration. In addition, the consortium has received a Strategy Development Grant to assist with continued development of the Hub and its application for Phase 2 Implementation funding. You can read the EDA's official announcement here and watch President Biden announce the Regional Technology & Innovation Hubs Designees.

The Montana Headwaters Tech Hub will develop smart photonic sensing systems that can be deployed in autonomous systems and applied to critical defense, resource management, and disaster prevention applications.

The Montana Headwaters Consortium founding members by entity type are:


  • Montana University System, including the University of Montana, Montana State University, and Montana Technological University
  • Salish Kootenai College


  • Montana State Department of Commerce
  • Montana State Tribal Economic Development Commission
  • Montana Governor’s Director of Indian Affairs

Private sector

  • Montana Chamber of Commerce
  • Aurora Innovations, Inc.
  • Bridger Photonics
  • Hyundai America Technical Center, Inc.’s New Horizons Studio
  • Montana Photonics and Quantum Alliance (formerly the Montana Photonics Industry Alliance)

Economic development

  • Accelerate Montana
  • Missoula Economic Partnership
  • Prospera Business Network

Workforce Development

  • Montana State Workforce Investment Board (SWIB)
  • MT Department of Labor and Industry


  • America’s Frontier Fund
  • Homestake
  • Next Frontier Capital
Media Releases & Coverage

Contact Us & Stay Informed

If you would like to speak to someone about the Montana Headwaters Tech Hub please complete the form below and let us know how we can help you. You can also sign up to receive updates on the Headwaters Tech Hub.